University of Texas at Austin - Jackson School of Geosciences

Austin,  TX 
United States
  • Booth: 1202

The Jackson School of Geosciences at The University of Texas at Austin is among the most established and well regarded geoscience programs in the world. The school includes the Department of Geological Sciences, one of the country’s oldest geoscience departments, and two world-renowned research units, the Institute for Geophysics and the Bureau of Economic Geology. The Jackson School dates back to the Department of Geology founded in 1888 but became a separate unit at the level of a college only in 2005. The school’s formation resulted from one of the most generous gifts in the history of higher education when the late John A. and Katherine G. Jackson bequeathed endowments and assets to the university presently valued at over $300 million.