SSO 2018 Award Winners

The Charles M. Balch, MD, Distinguished Service Award

Presented for outstanding contributions to surgical oncology through service to SSO, research, or enhancing clinical care or health policy. This is the successor to the Society of Surgical Oncology Heritage Award and this year’s Annual Cancer Symposium marks the first year of this award with the new name “The Charles M. Balch, MD, Distinguished Service Award.” Charles M. Balch, MD has dedicated more than 30 years of service to the SSO, demonstrating leadership on multiple fronts and serving as SSO President in 1991. His passion for the Society and for the field of surgical oncology is evidenced by 25 years of service to the Annals of Surgical Oncology, in which his actions as Founding Editor-in-Chief has led to the worldwide growth and prominence of the journal. This award is funded by The SSO Foundation.

Norman Wolmark, MD

Professor and Chairman of Human Oncology

Drexel University School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

Bernard Fisher, MD

Distinguished Service Professor

University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

This Distinguished Service Award recognizes their work with the National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project (NSABP).

The James Ewing Layperson’s Award

Presented to a non-physician who has contributed to cancer research, education, or advances in treatment through philanthropy, public education, legislation, or by personal example. This Award is funded by The SSO Foundation.

Sam Kimura, Alex Kimura, and Taylor Shorten

This award is presented in recognition of their tireless efforts to raise awareness and encourage people to join the bone marrow donor registry to potentially donate to a patient in need through their non-profit, Sharing America’s Marrow (SAM).


SSO 2018 Abstract Contest & Award Winners

Harvey Baker Traveling Fellow Award

Each year The SSO Foundation awards a $1,000 grant to assist in providing travel support for a postdoctoral oncology trainee whose paper is accepted for presentation at the SSO Annual Cancer Symposium.

Roheena Z. Panni, MD

Washington University in Saint Louis

Saint Louis, MO

57: Reprogramming Tumor Microenvironment to Improve Responses to Immunotherapy in Pancreatic Cancer

Poster Competition

Each year, SSO offers two Poster Contest Awards; one for the best Basic/Transitional Research Poster and one for the best Clinical Research Poster. At the event, contest finalist posters are prominently displayed and voted on by attendees. The winner of each category and these were announced during the meeting on Saturday, during The Great Debates II.

  • Best Clinical Research Poster
    Mohammad Y. Zaidi, MD, MS
    Emory University
    Atlanta, GA
    PF169: Defining the Number of Lymph Nodes Needed to Accurately Stage Small Bowel Neuroendocrine Tumors: An Eight-Institution Study from the U.S. Neuroendocrine Tumor Study Group
  • Best Basic/Translational Research Poster
    Brett Ecker, MD
    University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, PA
    PT1: Impact of Obesity on Breast Cancer Recurrence and Minimal Residual Disease

Resident/Fellow Essay Contest

SSO offers two Resident/Fellow Essay Awards; one for the best Clinical Research paper and one for the best Basic Science Research paper. Contest finalists submit their manuscript in advance of the event and the Society makes its selection following the presentation of all papers at the Annual Scientific Program. The winner was announced during the event on Saturday, during the SSO Town Hall & Annual Business Meeting. These Awards are supported by an independent grant from The SSO Foundation.

  • Best Clinical Research Paper
    Naruhiko Ikoma, MD, MS
    University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, TX
    4: Nodal Downstaging in Gastric Cancer: Promising Survival if ypN0 is Achieved
  • Basic Science Research Paper
    Andre B. Martel, MD
    University of Ottawa
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    71: Surgical Stress Suppresses Natural Killer Cell IFNy Release in Colorectal Cancer Patients